Colorado enacted window tinting laws in 1995. We have given all the relevant data about your vehicle's window tint color, darkness or reflective is permitted in your state. There are additional stipulations regarding vehicle window coloring guidelines in Colorado so ensure you see the information below.
The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission.
Windshield: Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Back Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Rear Window: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Window tint can reflect incoming light and reduce glare and heat. Colorado window tint law permits a certain window reflection when using a tint so make sure you pay attention to this as well. It is also against the law to use tinting in a red or amber color.
Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Colorado does have several other important laws, rules and regulations pertaining to window tinting. They include the following:
Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
Restricted Colors: The tint color(s) of RED and AMBER are not legal by state law.
Certificates: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in Colorado.
Stickers: State law recommends but does not require stickers to identify legal tinting.
Medical Exceptions: Colorado law does NOT allow medical exemptions that would allow you use special tint.
Penalties: Class B traffic infraction, or misdemeanor with $500-$5000 fine.
Remember that Colorado coloring laws and guidelines might be different in your county. We generally suggest checking our data with your local DMV or local law enforcement. Our data about window color laws in Colorado was last refreshed in 2021. Coloring laws in Colorado were authorized in 1995. In the event that any of our information is incorrect or out of date please contact us.
Trusted industry leader in providing accurate window tint laws. Share with confidence:
Accident and Liability with Illegal Window Tint
Violating Colorado's window color laws is a Class B infraction that can accompany a traffic ticket and can have extra legitimate repercussions too. In the event that a driver has an unlawful kind or VLT of window color or tint on their vehicle windows and causes a mishap from proper visibility, for instance, that driver could be responsible for the accident. Colorado utilizes a fault based accident system, which means the driver that caused the accident should pay for every other person's damages.
The offended or injured party will need to prove the fault of the other driver for an individual injury claim in Colorado. A legal advisor can survey the accident, recreate it with assistance from specialists, address observers, find photos and utilize alternate ways to demonstrate that the driver caused the crash due to impaired visibility. In the event that the driver couldn't sensibly see the street through an unlawful kind of coloring, that driver might be monetarily liable for casualties' harms.